Senate approved three nominees to serve on CFTC

The U.S. Senate approved three of President Barack Obama’s nominees to serve on the CFTC. All five seats at the CFTC will now be filled.

Two of the nominees, Democrat Bart Chilton and Republican Jill Sommers, are already sitting commissioners. The third nominee, Republican Scott O’Malia, works as a minority clerk for the Senate Appropriations energy and water subcommittee.

Chilton will serve until April 13, 2013. Sommers will serve until April 13, 2014. O’Malia will fill the vacancy left by former Acting Chairman Walter Lukken, who stepped down from the agency earlier this year to work for NYSE Euronext. After that, O’Malia will also serve a regular full term until April 13, 2015.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email